Shuklian announces re-election bid for TC supervisor

Amy Shuklian will run for a second term to represent District 3 on the Tulare County Board of Supervisors


VISALIA – Amy Shuklian, the humorous and hardworking county official, has announced she will seek a second term on the Tulare County Board of Supervisors. Shuklian represents District 3 on the board, which primarily includes the central section of the county’s largest city in Visalia.

Shuklian cites the reversal of the controversial ordinance that allowed county supervisors to receive a percentage of the raises received by other county elected officials, the sale of the County’s long vacant historic courthouse, and the increased investment in Mooney Grove Park, as a few highlights of her first term.

“The old courthouse had not been used by the county in over a decade and was costing the county a great deal of money to maintain.  With the sale we not only eliminated those costs but will start receiving property tax revenue, plus Downtown Visalia will have a beautifully remodeled and much needed hotel” Shuklian said.

During her second term Shuklian looks forward to continuing to lead the county’s Task Force on Homelessness as they begin to implement a regional plan that will help guide the county and cities in how to better address homelessness. Also, to maintaining the fiscal strength of county finances, the development of Valley Children’s hospital specialty clinic, and supporting public safety.

Shuklian also announced two key endorsements from the county’s highest law enforcement officials in Tulare County District Attorney Tim Ward and Sheriff Mike Boudreaux.

“Supervisor Shuklian demonstrates a high level of loyalty and dedication for her constituents and is committed to public safety” Sheriff Boudreaux said.  “She is a straightforward individual who listens first while making strong decisions for the county”.

Prior to being elected to the Board of Supervisors in 2016, Shuklian served nine years on the Visalia City Council, including stints as Vice Mayor (2009-2011) and Mayor (2011-2013).

Start typing and press Enter to search