Exeter, Porterville have model continuation high schools

Kaweah High School in Exeter and Citrus High School in Porterville are among 43 named Model Continuation High Schools for 2020

The Sun-Gazette

SACRAMENTO — Exeter and Porterville Unified have two of the best continuation high schools in the state. 

On Feb. 24, State Superintendent   Tony Thurmond announced that Kaweah High School in Exeter and Citrus High School in Porterville were among 43 schools throughout the state recognized as Model Continuation High Schools (MCHS) for 2020.

“This recognition is a testament to the hard work, dedication, and determination of the teachers, school staff, and administrators who are helping these students to thrive personally and academically,” said Thurmond. “With the right guidance, encouragement, and support, students in continuation high schools can access the same career and college opportunities after graduation as their peers in traditional school settings. These model schools give students a chance to not only succeed in high school but in life.”

Continuation schools provide a high school diploma program for students ages 16 through 18 who have not graduated from high school, are required to attend school, and are at risk of not completing their education.
Each of the schools honored offer various opportunities for their students to pursue academic and social success. Darin Pace is principal of Kaweah High School, located at 1107 E Rocky Hill Dr. in Exeter, and Scott Braden is principal of Citrus High School, located at 261 East Mulberry Ave. in Porterville. The schools were selected based on a comprehensive and competitive application process that involved assessments and data. The process included a peer review panel and on-site visit.

The MCHS Recognition Program is a collaborative partnership between the California Department of Education (CDE) and the California Continuation Education Association (CCEA). The program honors continuation high schools for the comprehensive services they provide at-risk youth through instructional strategies, flexible scheduling, guidance, and counseling.

The 43 schools selected as MCHS retain their designation for three years and will be recognized at the 2020 CCEA State Conference in San Diego from May 1 to 3. 

Start typing and press Enter to search