Farm Bureau announces scholarship winners

Tulare County Farm Bureau doubles amounts and awards 22 graduates with agriculture scholarships

TULARE COUNTY – Farmers deal with plummeting markets and increased costs every year, so why should a global pandemic stop them from dolling out scholarships to 22 deserving high school graduates who will someday leading the industry.

The Tulare County Farm Bureau’s Educational and Scholarship charitable trust released its 2020 student recipients in its July newsletter. This year’s Selection Committee reviewed all applications online, and made their selections increasing the amount of funds awarded in many categories. The scholarship and educational programs of the trust are funded annually through the Spring Gala held in March. Fortunately this year’s awards were funded by proceeds of the 2019 event, and the COVID pandemic did not impact the award budget for this year. The 2020 gala was canceled due to the shelter-in-place orders, but donors have been thoughtful in contributing funds this year, and many have rolled their donations over to the 2021 event in anticipation of it being set for next March.

Most awards were increased to a $2,000 award, and others increased from $500 to $1,000 awards.

There are also renewable awards offered by the Scott Shannon Memorial fund, and those students may renew the same amount for four years total.  Awards listed below are all awarded by the Tulare County Farm Bureau’s charitable trust.  Certain awards are contributed to by families in memoriam, while others are part of the trust’s permanent endowment.

Awards are paid after the student provides verification of their college enrollment, and those verifications are due to the Farm Bureau by September 15 or sooner, as available.

The Tulare County Farm Bureau congratulates all the outstanding students that applied for the awards. This year’s winners are listed below:

First Name Last Name Award Name Amount School
Maria Aguilera Scott Shannon Memorial $1,000 Mt. Whitney High School
Alissa Amaral Frank Ribeiro Memorial $2,000 Tulare Union High School
Dalton Baird 2-Year College $1,000 Mt. Whitney High School
Bryan Berczynski Scott Shannon Memorial $1,000 VTEC High School
Bryan Berczynski Young Farmers & Ranchers $1,000 VTEC High School
Lauren Davis Merit Award $500 CSU Fresno
Rebecca Duran Merit Award $500 CSU Fresno
Madelyn Fernandes Mary Rankin Memorial $2,000 Mission Oak High School
Chastine Gist TCFB Ag Career $2,000 Tulare Western High School
Tyce Griswold Scott Shannon Memorial $1,000 Central Valley Christian School
Grace Guthrie Merit Award $500 Cal Poly, SLO
Paige Kroes Merit Award $500 Central Valley Christian School
Selina Lopez Curiel Student of Farm Employee $1,000 Woodlake Union High School
Ryan Majarian COS RRS Endowment $1,500 Mt. Whitney High School
Pia Martinez Merit Award $500 CSU Fresno
Javier Monje Jr. Student of Farm Employee $1,000 Tulare Western High School
Javier Monje Jr. Merit Award $500 Tulare Western High School
Bethanie Negrete Young Farmers & Ranchers $500 Mt. Whitney High School
Dafne Pamplona Quiroz TCFB Ag Career $2,000 Dinuba High School
Mayalina Puerner TCFB Ag Career $2,000 Exeter Union High School
Hunter Seymore 2019 Youth Outstanding Participant award $1,000 El Diamante High School
Amy Swall Fred & Marilyn Collison Memorial $2,000 Mission Oak High School
Katherine Walker Young Farmers & Ranchers $1,000 Reedley College
Kalina Weaver Ken and Cindy Williams Scholarship $2,500 Monache High School

Start typing and press Enter to search