By Andrea Camarena

The Lindsay Skimmers made the long haul out to Coalinga on Saturday, July 16 to qualify for the league finals at the end of the year time trials. Several Skimmers succeeded in placing in the top 24 and will continue on to the finals in Sanger on Saturday.

For one young athlete, the trials were more rewarding than just qualifying for finals. Chelsea Arroyo, 10, completed the 50-yard freestyle race in 30.94 to break the Skimmers record for the event. The previous record was 31.45 seconds.

Arroyo also broke the 50-yard freestyle record for her age group. She surpassed the old 28.49 second record with a time of 28.48 seconds. Early in the season, an intersquad competition, Arroyo also broke the team's 50-yard backstroke record with a 32.62 second finish to beat the previous 33.59 record.

Other big finishers at the meet include Alec Blue, 18, Jamie Arroyo, 8, Wesley Coles, 11, Stevi Ibarra, 14, Jesse Coles, 6, Justin Morillo, 17, Jordan Blue, 16, and Nathan Hunt, 14.

Alec Blue took a first place finish in the 50-yard butterfly scoring a time of 26.85. Teammate Justin Morillo finished just behind him for second place in 28.14 seconds.

Morillo also took second place in the 50-yard breast stroke while Blue took second in the 50-yard freestyle. Blue also finished first in the 50-yard backstroke with a time of 29.42 seconds.

Jamie Arroyo took a victorious second place in the boys 8 and under division for the 25-yard freestyle. He finished in just 16.14 seconds. Arroyo's big wins came in the 25-yard backstroke where the 8-year-old took first with a time of 19.56 and the 25-yard breaststroke where he finished in 22.78 seconds for first place.

Jesse Coles came up big in the 25-yard backstroke to finish second in his age group in 28.62 seconds.

Stevi Ibarra also took a second place finish for the Skimmers. She completed the 50-yard butterfly in 32.16 seconds.

Most of the Skimmers who competed at the time trials will make their final appearance of the season at 9 a.m. in Sanger this Saturday for the CVRSL championship meet.

Start typing and press Enter to search